Kathy

Genres: Historical Fiction, Nature, Poetry, History, Gardening, Short Stories

Favorite Authors: Terry Tempest Williams, Ann Patchett, Wendell Berry, Wallace Stegner

Favorite Books: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Birds of America by Lorrie Moore,Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner, Crossing to Safety by Wallace Stegner

 

Walking the Nile Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802126337
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - February 14th, 2017

The Nile, one of the world's great rivers, has long been an object of fascination and obsession. From Alexander the Great and Nero, to Victorian adventurers David Livingstone, John Hanning Speke, and Henry Morton Stanley, the river has enticed many into wild adventures.


Wanderlust: A History of Walking Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780140286014
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - June 2001

A passionate, thought provoking exploration of walking as a political and cultural activity, from the author of Men Explain Things to Me


Books for Living Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780385353540
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - December 27th, 2016

From the author of the beloved New York Times best-selling The End of Your Life Book Club, an inspiring and magical exploration of the power of books to shape our lives in an era of constant connectivity.


Die Wise: A Manifesto for Sanity and Soul Cover Image
By Stephen Jenkinson, Martin Shaw (Foreword by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781583949733
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: North Atlantic Books - March 17th, 2015

Die Wise does not offer seven steps for coping with death. It does not suggest ways to make dying easier. It pours no honey to make the medicine go down. Instead, with lyrical prose, deep wisdom, and stories from his two decades of working with dying people and their families, Stephen Jenkinson places death at the center of the page and asks us to behold it in all its painful beauty.


Inheriting Edith Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062378743
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow & Company - October 18th, 2016

A poignant breakout novel, for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand, about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat--she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it.


News of the World Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780062409201
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow & Company - October 4th, 2016

National Book Award Finalist--Fiction

It is 1870 and Captain Jefferson Kyle Kidd travels through northern Texas, giving live readings to paying audiences hungry for news of the world. An elderly widower who has lived through three wars and fought in two of them, the captain enjoys his rootless, solitary existence.


Shelter in Place Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781609453640
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - September 13th, 2016

Named one of the San Francisco Chronicle's "Best Books of 2016"
Named one of The Guardian's "Best Books of 2016"


The Gustav Sonata Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393246698
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 27th, 2016

Gustav Perle grows up in a small town in Switzerland, where the horrors of the Second World War seem only a distant echo. An only child, he lives alone with Emilie, the mother he adores but who treats him with bitter severity. He begins an intense friendship with a Jewish boy his age, talented and mercurial Anton Zweibel, a budding concert pianist.


Dear Mr. You Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501107849
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner Book Company - June 14th, 2016

The bestselling, wonderfully unconventional, "warmly conspiratorial...seriously good" (The New York Times) literary memoir from the award-winning actress that has received fabulous and wide praise. "There is no one else quite like Mary-Louise Parker...Funny, heartbreaking and profound" (Elle).


Mischling Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316308106
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Lee Boudreaux Books - September 6th, 2016

A New York Times Notable Book
An Amazon Best Book of the Year
A Barnes & Noble Discover Pick
An Indie Next Pick
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A Flavorwire Best Book of the Year
An Elle Best Book of the Year


Envelope Poems Cover Image
By Emily Dickinson, Jen Bervin (Editor), Marta Werner (Editor)
$12.95
ISBN: 9780811225823
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - October 4th, 2016

Full-color facsimiles are accompanied by Marta L. Werner and Jen Bervin's pioneering transcriptions of Dickinson's handwriting. Their transcriptions allow us to read the texts, while the facsimiles let us see exactly what Dickinson wrote (the variant words, crossings-out, dashes, directional fields, spaces, columns, and overlapping planes).


Lincoln in the Bardo Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780812995343
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - February 14th, 2017

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - The long-awaited first novel from the author of Tenth of December a moving and original father-son story featuring none other than Abraham Lincoln, as well as an unforgettable cast of supporting characters, living and dead, historical and invented


The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781616206420
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books - September 6th, 2016

In a work that beautifully demonstrates the rewards of closely observing nature, Elisabeth Tova Bailey shares an inspiring and intimate story of her encounter with a Neohelix albolabris--a common woodland snail.


The Refugees Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780802126399
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - February 7th, 2017

Viet Thanh Nguyen's The Sympathizer was one of the most widely and highly praised novels of 2015, the winner not only of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, but also the Center for Fiction Debut Novel Prize, the Edgar Award for Best First Novel, the ALA Carnegie Medal for Fiction, the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature, and the California Book Award for First Fiction.


In the Company of Women: Inspiration and Advice from Over 100 Makers, Artists, and Entrepreneurs Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781579655976
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Artisan Publishers - October 4th, 2016

New York Times Bestseller

"I want to rip out every page of this glorious book and hang them on my wall so that I can be surrounded by these incredible women all day long."
--Emma Straub, New York Times bestselling author of The Vacationers and Modern Lovers