Kathy

Genres: Historical Fiction, Nature, Poetry, History, Gardening, Short Stories

Favorite Authors: Terry Tempest Williams, Ann Patchett, Wendell Berry, Wallace Stegner

Favorite Books: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Birds of America by Lorrie Moore,Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner, Crossing to Safety by Wallace Stegner

 

Memory's Last Breath: Field Notes on My Dementia Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316502627
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hachette Books - June 13th, 2017

"For anyone facing dementia, Saunders'] words are truly enlightening.... Inspiring lessons about living and thriving with dementia."---Maria Shriver, NBC's Today Show


Saints for All Occasions Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780307959577
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - May 9th, 2017

A NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"This year's best book about family." --Ron Charles, The Washington Post

A sweeping, unforgettable novel from The New York Times best-selling author of Maine, about the hope, sacrifice, and love between two sisters and the secret that drives them apart.


Quiet Until the Thaw Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780735223349
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - June 27th, 2017

The debut novel from the bestselling author of Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight and Leaving Before the Rains Come.


American Nations: A History of the Eleven Rival Regional Cultures of North America Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143122029
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - September 25th, 2012

- A New Republic Best Book of the Year - The Globalist Top Books of the Year - Winner of the Maine Literary Award for Non-fiction -

Particularly relevant in understanding who voted for who in this presidential election year, this is an endlessly fascinating look at American regionalism and the eleven "nations" that continue to shape North America


Word by Word: The Secret Life of Dictionaries Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781101870945
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon Books - March 14th, 2017

Do you have strong feelings about the word "irregardless"? Have you ever tried to define the word "is"? Brimming with intelligence and personality, this vastly entertaining account of how dictionaries are made is a must-read for word mavens.


Never Caught: The Washingtons' Relentless Pursuit of Their Runaway Slave, Ona Judge Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501126390
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - February 7th, 2017

Longlisted for the National Book Award for Nonfiction


An Unnecessary Woman Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802122940
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grove Press - November 11th, 2014

Winner of the California Book Award
Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award
Finalist for the National Book Award
"Beautiful and absorbing."--New York Times


The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812989885
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Press - March 28th, 2017

A coming-of-age novel and a literary thrill ride about the price we pay to protect the people we love most.

"A father-daughter road trip you won't soon forget."--Richard Russo


Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385534246
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday Books - April 18th, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - LONGLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD

"Disturbing and riveting...It will sear your soul." --Dave Eggers, New York Times Book Review


Walking the Nile Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802126337
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - February 14th, 2017

The Nile, one of the world's great rivers, has long been an object of fascination and obsession. From Alexander the Great and Nero, to Victorian adventurers David Livingstone, John Hanning Speke, and Henry Morton Stanley, the river has enticed many into wild adventures.


Wanderlust: A History of Walking Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780140286014
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - June 2001

A passionate, thought provoking exploration of walking as a political and cultural activity, from the author of Men Explain Things to Me


Books for Living Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780385353540
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - December 27th, 2016

From the author of the beloved New York Times best-selling The End of Your Life Book Club, an inspiring and magical exploration of the power of books to shape our lives in an era of constant connectivity.


Die Wise: A Manifesto for Sanity and Soul Cover Image
By Stephen Jenkinson, Martin Shaw (Foreword by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781583949733
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: North Atlantic Books - March 17th, 2015

Die Wise does not offer seven steps for coping with death. It does not suggest ways to make dying easier. It pours no honey to make the medicine go down. Instead, with lyrical prose, deep wisdom, and stories from his two decades of working with dying people and their families, Stephen Jenkinson places death at the center of the page and asks us to behold it in all its painful beauty.


Inheriting Edith Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062378743
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow & Company - October 18th, 2016

A poignant breakout novel, for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand, about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat--she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it.


News of the World Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780062409201
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow & Company - October 4th, 2016

National Book Award Finalist--Fiction

It is 1870 and Captain Jefferson Kyle Kidd travels through northern Texas, giving live readings to paying audiences hungry for news of the world. An elderly widower who has lived through three wars and fought in two of them, the captain enjoys his rootless, solitary existence.