Kathy

Genres: Historical Fiction, Nature, Poetry, History, Gardening, Short Stories

Favorite Authors: Terry Tempest Williams, Ann Patchett, Wendell Berry, Wallace Stegner

Favorite Books: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Birds of America by Lorrie Moore,Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner, Crossing to Safety by Wallace Stegner

 

One Person, No Vote: How Voter Suppression Is Destroying Our Democracy Cover Image
By Carol Anderson, Dick Durbin (Foreword by), Dick Durbin (Introduction by)
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635571370
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - September 11th, 2018

10 Best Books of the Year--Washington Post
Longlisted for the National Book Award in Nonfiction
50 Must-Read Books about American Politics--BookRiot

From the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of White Rage, the startling--and timely--history of voter suppression in America, with a foreword by Senator Dick Durbin.


American Like Me: Reflections on Life Between Cultures Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501180910
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - September 25th, 2018

From award-winning actress and political activist America Ferrera comes a vibrant and varied collection of first-person accounts from prominent figures about the experience of growing up between cultures.

America Ferrera has always felt wholly American, and yet, her identity is inextricably linked to her parents’ homeland and Honduran culture.


Scribe: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555978181
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - October 2nd, 2018

A haunting, evocative tale about the power of storytelling

A brutal civil war has ravaged the country, and contagious fevers have decimated the population. Abandoned farmhouses litter the isolated mountain valleys and shady hollows. The economy has been reduced to barter and trade.


Transcription: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316176637
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 25th, 2018

A dramatic story of WWII espionage, betrayal, and loyalty, by the #1 bestselling author of Life After Life


Sweep: The Story of a Girl and Her Monster Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419731402
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amulet Books - September 25th, 2018

It's been five years since the Sweep disappeared. Orphaned and alone, Nan Sparrow had no other choice but to work for a ruthless chimney sweep named Wilkie Crudd. She spends her days sweeping out chimneys.


The Art of the Wasted Day Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525429647
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - April 17th, 2018

“A sharp and unconventional book — a swirl of memoir, travelogue and biography of some of history's champion day-dreamers.” Maureen Corrigan, "Fresh Air"

A spirited inquiry into the lost value of leisure and daydream


Call Them by Their True Names: American Crises (and Essays) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781608469468
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Haymarket Books - September 4th, 2018

National Book Award Longlist Kirkus Prize Finalist

"Rebecca Solnit is essential feminist reading." --The New Republic

"Solnit's exquisite essays move between the political and the personal, the intellectual and the earthy." --Elle


Justice: What's the Right Thing to Do? Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374532505
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - August 17th, 2010

"For Michael Sandel, justice is not a spectator sport," The Nation's reviewer of Justice remarked. In his acclaimed book—based on his legendary Harvard course—Sandel offers a rare education in thinking through the complicated issues and controversies we face in public life today.


The Wonderling Cover Image
By Mira Bartók, Mira Bartók (Illustrator)
$21.99
ISBN: 9780763691219
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - September 26th, 2017

In this extraordinary debut novel with its deft nod to Dickensian heroes and rogues, Mira Bartók tells the story of Arthur, a shy, fox-like foundling with only one ear and a desperate desire to belong, as he seeks his destiny.

Have you been unexpectedly burdened by a recently orphaned or unclaimed creature? Worry not! We have just the solution for you!


We All Love the Beautiful Girls Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781538712450
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - August 28th, 2018

Perfect for fans of Rick Moody, Lauren Groff, and Celeste Ng, a propulsive literary breakout about three suburban families whose lives spiral dangerously out of control after tragedy strikes.

Who suffers when the privileged fall?


Fashion Climbing: A Memoir with Photographs Cover Image
By Bill Cunningham, Hilton Als (Preface by)
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525558705
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - September 4th, 2018

The New York Times bestseller

“[An] obscenely enjoyable romp.” —The New York Times Book Review

The untold story of a New York City legend's education in creativity and style


There There: A novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525520375
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - June 5th, 2018

NEW YORK TIMES BEST-SELLER 


Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501170065
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner - July 3rd, 2018

This charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertantly becomes a secret advice columnist is “a jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (People)—for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.


The Soul of an Octopus: A Surprising Exploration into the Wonder of Consciousness Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781451697728
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - April 5th, 2016

Finalist for the National Book Award for Nonfiction * New York Times Bestseller * Starred Booklist and Library Journal Editors’ Spring Pick * A Huffington Post Notable Nonfiction Book of the Year * One of the Best Books of the Month on Goodreads * Library Journal Best Sci-Tech Book of the Year * An American Library Association Notable Book of the Year


WHEREAS: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977672
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graywolf Press - March 7th, 2017

Finalist for the National Book Award for Poetry