Kathy

Genres: Historical Fiction, Nature, Poetry, History, Gardening, Short Stories

Favorite Authors: Terry Tempest Williams, Ann Patchett, Wendell Berry, Wallace Stegner

Favorite Books: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Birds of America by Lorrie Moore,Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner, Crossing to Safety by Wallace Stegner

 

Once Upon a River: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780743298070
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria/Emily Bestler Books - December 4th, 2018

“One of the most pleasurable and satisfying new books I've read in a long time.


Say Nothing: A True Story of Murder and Memory in Northern Ireland Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385521314
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - February 26th, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"A masterful history of the Troubles. . . Extraordinary. . .As in the most ingenious crime stories, Keefe unveils a revelation — lying, so to speak, in plain sight."Maureen Corrigan, NPR


The Cadaver King and the Country Dentist: A True Story of Injustice in the American South Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781610396912
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: PublicAffairs - February 27th, 2018

A shocking and deeply reported account of the persistent plague of institutional racism and junk forensic science in our criminal justice system, and its devastating effect on innocent lives


Save Me the Plums: My Gourmet Memoir Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781400069996
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - April 2nd, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Trailblazing food writer and beloved restaurant critic Ruth Reichl took the job (and the risk) of a lifetime when she entered the high-stakes world of magazine publishing. Now, for the first time, she chronicles her groundbreaking tenure as editor in chief of Gourmet.


Once More We Saw Stars: A Memoir Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781524733537
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Knopf - May 14th, 2019

“A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss.”
 --Cheryl Strayed

For readers of The Bright Hour and When Breath Becomes Air, a moving, transcendent memoir of loss and a stunning exploration of marriage in the wake of unimaginable grief.


The Source of Self-Regard: Selected Essays, Speeches, and Meditations Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780525521037
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - February 12th, 2019

Arguably the most celebrated and revered writer of our time now gives us a new nonfiction collection--a rich gathering of her essays, speeches, and meditations on society, culture, and art, spanning four decades.


Listen to the Marriage: A Novel Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780374192020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - October 23rd, 2018

A riveting drama of marital therapy


The Heartbeat of Wounded Knee: Native America from 1890 to the Present Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781594633157
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - January 22nd, 2019

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"Chapter after chapter, it's like one shattered myth after another." - NPR


Staff Pick Badge
Maid: Hard Work, Low Pay, and a Mother's Will to Survive Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316505116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hachette Books - January 22nd, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Evicted meets Nickel and Dimed in Stephanie Land's memoir about working as a maid, a beautiful and gritty exploration of poverty in America. Includes a foreword by Barbara Ehrenreich.


Pride and Prejudice Cover Image
By Jane Austen, Vivien Jones (Editor), Vivien Jones (Introduction by), Tony Tanner (Introduction by), Vivien Jones (Notes by)
$9.00
ISBN: 9780141439518
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Classics - December 31st, 2002

Austen's most popular novel, the unforgettable story of Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy. Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read


Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780804137386
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Currency - April 15th, 2014

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER 

Have you ever felt the urge to declutter your work life?

Do you often find yourself stretched too thin?
 
Do you simultaneously feel overworked and underutilized?
 
Are you frequently busy but not productive?
 


Almost Everything: Notes on Hope Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780525537441
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - October 16th, 2018

From Anne Lamott, the New York Times-bestselling author of Help, Thanks, Wow, comes the book we need from her now: How to bring hope back into our lives. Fantastic inspiration for the new year.


The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062674951
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - December 31st, 2018

One of the most anticipated reads from USA Today, InStyle, HelloGiggles, Hypable, Bookbub, and Bookriot!

One of Real Simple's Best Historical Fiction novels of the year!


Buzz: The Nature and Necessity of Bees Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780465052615
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Basic Books - July 10th, 2018

As seen on PBS's American Spring LIVE, the award-winning author of The Triumph of Seeds and Feathers, presents a natural and cultural history of bees: the buzzing wee beasties that make the world go round.


One Person, No Vote: How Voter Suppression Is Destroying Our Democracy Cover Image
By Carol Anderson, Dick Durbin (Foreword by), Dick Durbin (Introduction by)
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635571370
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - September 11th, 2018

Finalist for the PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction
Longlisted for the National Book Award in Nonfiction
Named one of the Best Books of the Year by:
Washington Post * Boston Globe * NPR* Bustle * BookRiot * New York Public Library