Kathy

Genres: Historical Fiction, Nature, Poetry, History, Gardening, Short Stories

Favorite Authors: Terry Tempest Williams, Ann Patchett, Wendell Berry, Wallace Stegner

Favorite Books: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Birds of America by Lorrie Moore,Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner, Crossing to Safety by Wallace Stegner

 

Transcription: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316176637
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 25th, 2018

A dramatic story of WWII espionage, betrayal, and loyalty, by the #1 bestselling author of Life After Life


Sweep: The Story of a Girl and Her Monster Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419731402
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Amulet Books - September 25th, 2018

It's been five years since the Sweep disappeared. Orphaned and alone, Nan Sparrow had no other choice but to work for a ruthless chimney sweep named Wilkie Crudd. She spends her days sweeping out chimneys.


The Art of the Wasted Day Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525429647
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - April 17th, 2018

“A sharp and unconventional book — a swirl of memoir, travelogue and biography of some of history's champion day-dreamers.” Maureen Corrigan, "Fresh Air"

A spirited inquiry into the lost value of leisure and daydream


Call Them by Their True Names: American Crises (and Essays) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781608469468
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Haymarket Books - September 4th, 2018

"Rebecca Solnit is essential feminist reading." --The New Republic

"Solnit's exquisite essays move between the political and the personal, the intellectual and the earthy." --Elle


Justice: What's the Right Thing to Do? Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374532505
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - August 17th, 2010

"For Michael Sandel, justice is not a spectator sport," The Nation's reviewer of Justice remarked. In his acclaimed book—based on his legendary Harvard course—Sandel offers a rare education in thinking through the complicated issues and controversies we face in public life today.


The Wonderling Cover Image
By Mira Bartók, Mira Bartók (Illustrator)
$21.99
ISBN: 9780763691219
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - September 26th, 2017

In this extraordinary debut novel with its deft nod to Dickensian heroes and rogues, Mira Bartók tells the story of Arthur, a shy, fox-like foundling with only one ear and a desperate desire to belong, as he seeks his destiny.

Have you been unexpectedly burdened by a recently orphaned or unclaimed creature? Worry not! We have just the solution for you!


We All Love the Beautiful Girls Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781538712450
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - August 28th, 2018

Perfect for fans of Rick Moody, Lauren Groff, and Celeste Ng, a propulsive literary breakout about three suburban families whose lives spiral dangerously out of control after tragedy strikes.

Who suffers when the privileged fall?


Fashion Climbing: A Memoir with Photographs Cover Image
By Bill Cunningham, Hilton Als (Preface by)
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525558705
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - September 4th, 2018

The New York Times bestseller

“[An] obscenely enjoyable romp . . . [Fashion Climbing] leaves the readers gasping for more.” —The New York Times Book Review

The untold story of a New York City legend's education in creativity and style


There There: A novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525520375
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - June 5th, 2018

NEW YORK TIMES BEST-SELLER 


Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501170065
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - July 3rd, 2018

“A marvelous treat.


The Soul of an Octopus: A Surprising Exploration into the Wonder of Consciousness Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781451697728
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - April 5th, 2016

Finalist for the National Book Award for Nonfiction * New York Times Bestseller * Starred Booklist and Library Journal Editors’ Spring Pick * A Huffington Post Notable Nonfiction Book of the Year * One of the Best Books of the Month on Goodreads * Library Journal Best Sci-Tech Book of the Year * An American Library Association Notable Book of the Year


WHEREAS: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977672
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - March 7th, 2017

Finalist for the National Book Award for Poetry


How to Write an Autobiographical Novel: Essays Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781328764522
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - April 17th, 2018

From the author of The Queen of the Night, an essay collection exploring his education as a man, writer, and activist—and how we form our identities in life and in art.

As a novelist, Alexander Chee has been described as “masterful” by Roxane Gay, “incendiary” by the New York Times, and "brilliant" by the Washington Pos


The Golden Glow Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735264120
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tundra Books - May 15th, 2018

Wes Anderson's Fantastic Mr. Fox meets Richard Scarry's Best Word Book Ever in this stylish picture book about a quest for a rare and mysterious plant.


Counting Coup: Becoming a Crow Chief on the Reservation and Beyond Cover Image
Email or call for price & availability
ISBN: 9780792253914
Availability: Backordered
Published: National Geographic Children's Books - February 14th, 2006

Picture a Crow Indian elder, his wizened eyes catching yours in the ancient flicker of firelight. His mesmerizing stories span the ages, from Custer to World War II to the 21st Century. He is the last traditional chief of his people. He is over 90 years old. Now picture that same man lecturing at colleges nationwide, and addressing the United Nations on the subject of peace.