Kid's and Young Adult

Here you can find news on the coolest new kid's and teen's books and events at the Country Bookshelf! Do you have recommendations or things you'd like to see from our kids and teens programming? We'd love to hear them! Head on over to our contact page or visit us in store.
 

Teen Advisory Corps

The Teen Advisory Corps at Country Bookshelf is a volunteer program that provides book loving teens with an opportunity to share their enthusiasm for books, and peek behind the curtain of the book industry. It’s a fun, rewarding, and a great resume builder. Being a member of the corps is a yearlong commitment and we’ll meet about once a month. The mission of the Country Bookshelf Teen Advisory Corps is to encourage high-school aged students to become life-long supporters of independent bookstores and the literary arts through the promotion of reading, volunteerism, leadership, and collaboration to assist Country Bookshelf in serving local teens. For more information see our Teen Advisory Corps page.

 

Voice Your Choice!
Voting now open for the 11th Annual Children's & Teen Choice Book Awards

Discover this year's Children's & Teen Choice Book Awards Finalists and encourage kids and teens to voice their choice at our Virtual Voting Booth.

Check out the 20 fantastic books that were chosen as this year's finalists! 

Encourage kids & teens to vote for their favorites now through May 6th at EveryChildaReader.net/vote.

 


Kid's Indie Next List

Children of Blood and Bone (Children of Orisha #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250170972
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt & Company - March 6th, 2018

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi's West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.


Islandborn Cover Image
By Junot Diaz, Leo Espinosa (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735229860
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - March 13th, 2018

From New York Times bestseller and Pulitzer Prize winner Junot D az comes a debut picture book about the magic of memory and the infinite power of the imagination.


Harriet Gets Carried Away Cover Image
By Jessie Sima, Jessie Sima (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481469111
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 6th, 2018

From the author and illustrator of the bestselling Not Quite Narwhal comes a sweet and funny story about remembering where you belong, no matter how far you roam, or what you're wearing when you get there.


Arlo Finch in the Valley of Fire Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781626728141
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Book Press - February 6th, 2018

Arlo Finch in the Valley of Fire is the first book in a spellbinding fantasy adventure series by screenwriter John August.

Some trails lead to magic. Some lead to danger.


Aru Shah and the End of Time (Pandava #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781368012355
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - March 27th, 2018

Best-selling author Rick Riordan introduces this adventure by Roshani Chokshi about twelve-year-old Aru Shah, who has a tendency to stretch the truth in order to fit in at school.


The Belles Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484728499
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Freeform - February 6th, 2018

Camellia Beauregard is a Belle. In the opulent world of Orleans, Belles are revered, for they control Beauty, and Beauty is a commodity coveted above all else. In Orleans, the people are born gray, they are born damned, and only with the help of a Belle and her talents can they transform and be made beautiful.


Blood Water Paint Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735232112
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - March 6th, 2018

"When I finished this novel, I knew I would be haunted and empowered by Artemisia Gentileschi's story for the rest of my life."--Amanda Lovelace, bestselling author of the princess saves herself in this one


The Poet X Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062662804
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTeen - March 6th, 2018

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.


The Prince and the Dressmaker Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781626723634
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: First Second - February 13th, 2018

Paris, at the dawn of the modern age:

Prince Sebastian is looking for a bride--or rather, his parents are looking for one for him. Sebastian is too busy hiding his secret life from everyone. At night he puts on daring dresses and takes Paris by storm as the fabulous Lady Crystallia--the hottest fashion icon in the world capital of fashion