Ariana

Genres: I try to read across genres, but I do keep finding myself drawn to mysteries and literary fiction from around the globe. I also love great narrative nonfiction.

Favorite Authors: Haruki Murakami, P. D. James, Henning Mankell, Margaret Atwood, Jess Walter, Sherman Alexie, Jo Nesbo, Maile Meloy, Jhumpa Lahiri, Lydia Millet, J. R. R. Tolkien, John Green

Favorite Books: Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery, True Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex, Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood, Heart Earth by Ivan Doig, Willful Creatures by Aimee Bender, The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid, Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk, A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Atlantis Black: The Search for a Sister Gone Missing Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781947793774
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Tin House Books - August 4th, 2020

"A haunting, mind-bending memoir. . . . riveting." —New York Times

"A mixture of biography and true crime, this narrative . . . offers more plot twists, shocking revelations and shady characters than most contemporary thrillers." —NPR


Staff Pick Badge
And I Do Not Forgive You: Stories and Other Revenges Cover Image
$23.95
ISBN: 9781631496202
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Liveright - February 11th, 2020

Populated with such heroes as time-traveling queens and video-game designing goddesses, and such specters as clingy ghosts and mediocre men, And I Do Not Forgive You is tethered intricately by shades of rage.


Staff Pick Badge
Mostly Dead Things Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781947793835
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Tin House Books - April 21st, 2020

The celebrated New York Times Bestseller

A Best Book of the Year pick at the New York TimesNPRThe New YorkerTIMEWashington PostOprahmag.comThrillistShelf Awareness, Good Housekeeping and more.


Staff Pick Badge
American Zion: Cliven Bundy, God & Public Lands in the West Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781948814140
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Torrey House Press - March 24th, 2020

"A deep, fascinating dive into a uniquely American brand of religious zealotry that poses a grave threat to our national parks, wilderness areas, wildlife sanctuaries, and other public lands. It also happens to be a delight to read."
--JON KRAKAUER


Staff Pick Badge
Spillover: Animal Infections and the Next Human Pandemic Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780393346619
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 9th, 2013

"[Mr. Quammen] is not just among our best science writers but among our best writers, period." —Dwight Garner, New York Times


Staff Pick Badge
Such a Fun Age Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525541905
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - December 31st, 2019

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2020 BOOKER PRIZE

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A REESE'S BOOK CLUB x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK PICK

"The most provocative page-turner of the year." --Entertainment Weekly

"A great way to kick off 2020." --Washington Post

"I urge you to read Such a Fun Age." --NPR


Staff Pick Badge
Mobituaries: Great Lives Worth Reliving Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781501197628
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Simon & Schuster - November 5th, 2019

From beloved CBS Sunday Morning correspondent and humorist Mo Rocca, an entertaining and rigorously researched book that celebrates the dead people who have long fascinated him.

Mo Rocca has always loved obituaries—reading about the remarkable lives of global leaders, Hollywood heavyweights, and innovators who changed the world.


Staff Pick Badge
They Say Sarah: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781635429855
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Other Press - June 2nd, 2020

A literary sensation in France, this poetic, thrilling debut charts the all-consuming passion between two women and the ruin it leaves in its wake.


Staff Pick Badge
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984896360
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Delacorte Press - February 4th, 2020

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! 

For readers of Kara Thomas and Karen McManus, an addictive, twisty crime thriller with shades of Serial and Making a Murderer about a closed local murder case that doesn't add up, and a girl who's determined to find the real killer--but not everyone wants her meddling in the past.


Staff Pick Badge
Nothing to See Here Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062913463
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Ecco - October 29th, 2019

A New York Times Bestseller  •  A Read with Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick!


Staff Pick Badge
From the Desk of Zoe Washington Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062875853
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 14th, 2020

An Amazon Best Book of the Month * #1 Kids Indie Next List * A Junior Library Guild Selection * Four Starred Reviews

From debut author Janae Marks comes a captivating story full of heart, as one courageous girl questions assumptions, searches for the truth, and does what she believes is right—even in the face of great opposition. 


Staff Pick Badge
New Kid Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062691194
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Quill Tree Books - February 5th, 2019

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature! 


Staff Pick Badge
This Was Our Pact Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781626720534
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: First Second - June 11th, 2019

A 2019 Booklist Editor's Choice
A 2019 Kirkus Reviews Best Books of the Year
A 2019 Parents Magazine Best Children's Books of the Year


Ryan Andrews's This Was Our Pact is an astonishing, magical-realist adventure story for middle-grade readers.