Courting Darkness (Courting Darkness duology) (Hardcover)

Courting Darkness (Courting Darkness duology) Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Apr 23 12:30pm
(Young Adult)

Description


First in a duology, this darkly thrilling page-turner set in the world of the best-selling His Fair Assassin series is perfect for fans of THRONE OF GLASS, RED QUEEN, and GAME OF THRONES. Told in alternating perspectives, when Sybella discovers there is another trained assassin from St. Mortain’s convent deep undercover in the French court, she must use every skill in her arsenal to navigate the deadly royal politics and find her sister in arms before her time—and that of the newly crowned queen—runs out. 

When Sybella accompanies the Duchess to France, she expects trouble, but she isn’t expecting a deadly trap. Surrounded by enemies both known and unknown, Sybella searches for the undercover assassins from the convent of St. Mortain who were placed in the French court years ago.

Genevieve has been undercover for so many years, she no longer knows who she is or what she’s supposed to be fighting for. When she discovers a hidden prisoner who may be of importance, she takes matters into her own hands.
 
As these two worlds collide, the fate of the Duchess, Brittany, and everything Sybella and Genevieve have come to love hangs in the balance. 

About the Author


Robin LaFevers, author of the New York Times best-selling His Fair Assassin books, was raised on fairy tales, Bulfinch’s mythology, and nineteenth-century poetry. It is not surprising that she grew up to be a hopeless romantic. She was lucky enough to find her one true love, and is living happily ever after with him in California. Visit her online at robinlafevers.com and on Twitter @RLLaFevers. 

Praise For…


★ "Sharp and breathless, full of anger and strength. May the sequel hurry."—Kirkus, STARRED review

★ "A first-purchase gem of historical fantasy for high school and public libraries that will delight fans and engage newcomers."—School Library Journal, STARRED review

★ "LaFevers' sharply drawn characters, pointed storytelling, and intricate takes on political intrigue will once again have readers turning pages.... [T]here are few writers as fine at their craft as LaFevers."—Booklist, STARRED review

★ "LaFevers’s blood-soaked, machination-riddled tale captivates as its fierce, passionate, intelligent female characters examine issues of agency and empowerment, freedom, and sisterhood."—Publishers Weekly, STARRED review

"LaFevers yet again skillfully pulls from the history of the 15th century French-Breton War to create a richly developed world of political intrigue, while casting it with deeply relatable and fully fleshed out characters."—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"
Alternating between Sybella’s and Genevieve’s voices, LaFevers maintains an intense pitch of intrigue: murders, assaults, romance, betrayals, and erotic encounters follow one after another with plenty of garrotes, swords, daggers, poisoned sewing needles, and the like."—The Horn Book Magazine


Product Details
ISBN: 9780544991194
ISBN-10: 0544991192
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: February 5th, 2019
Pages: 512
Language: English
Series: Courting Darkness duology