How We Disappeared (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
How We Disappeared Cover Image

How We Disappeared (Paperback)

$16.99


Available in Warehouse. Wait for Email Confirmation for ETA
LONGLISTED FOR THE WALTER SCOTT PRIZE

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2020 WOMEN'S PRIZE

A
LIBRARY JOURNAL EMERGING STARS PICK

A mesmerizing novel of World War II Singapore, "a story about memory, trauma, and ultimately love" (
New York Times)--for fans of Pachinko and We Were the Lucky Ones

Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child.

In a neighboring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is strapped into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery as a "comfort woman." After sixty years of silence, what she saw and experienced still haunts her.

In the year 2000, twelve-year-old Kevin is sitting beside his ailing grandmother when he overhears a mumbled confession. He sets out to discover the truth, wherever it might lead, setting in motion a chain of events he never could have foreseen.

Weaving together two timelines and two very big secrets, this stunning debut opens a window on a little-known period of history, revealing the strength and bravery shown by numerous women in the face of terrible cruelty. Drawing in part on her family's experiences, Jing-Jing Lee has crafted a profoundly moving, unforgettable novel about human resilience, the bonds of family and the courage it takes to confront the past.

If you loved The Lost Apothecary, You'll love How We Disappeared
Product Details ISBN: 9781335013941
ISBN-10: 1335013946
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Publication Date: April 21st, 2020
Pages: 384
Language: English