Seeing: A Memoir of Truth and Courage from China's Most Influential Television Journalist (Hardcover)

Seeing: A Memoir of Truth and Courage from China's Most Influential Television Journalist By Chai Jing, Yan Yan (Translated by), Jack Hargreaves (Translated by) Cover Image

Seeing: A Memoir of Truth and Courage from China's Most Influential Television Journalist (Hardcover)

By Chai Jing, Yan Yan (Translated by), Jack Hargreaves (Translated by)

$27.00


Available in Warehouse. Wait for Email Confirmation for ETA
In the tradition of Katy Tur, Jane Pauley, and Peter Jennings, Chai Jing shows us the power of television news and the complex challenges of reporting in China.

After becoming a radio DJ in college and a TV interviewer at 23, Chai Jing is thrust into the spotlight when she takes on a position as a news anchor at CCTV, China’s official state news channel. Chai struggles to find her role in a male-dominated news organization, discovering corruption, courage, and hope within the people she meets while honing her talent for getting people to reveal themselves to her.

In eleven propulsive and deeply felt chapters, Chai recounts her investigations into SARS quarantine wards, a childhood suicide epidemic, the human cost of industrial pollution, and organized crime, while looking back at her growth as a journalist. Chai Jing shares the philosophical and emotional complexity of the ethical challenges that are always present in such revealing reporting, while she also finds hope and purpose, time and again, in the vital and intimate stories of her interviewees.

This candid memoir from one of China’s best-known journalists provides a rare window into the issues which concern us most, and which face contemporary China and the whole world.
Born in 1976, Chai Jing is an award-winning reporter and television host in China. While working at CCTV from 2001, she gained recognition covering the SARS epidemic in 2003. Her reporting on domestic violence in China contributed to the enactment of groundbreaking anti-domestic violence legislation in 2005. In the same year, Chai released "In the Name of Life," an interview with members of China's LGBT+ population that marked the first open appearance of queer people in Chinese media. In 2007, she won the National Green People Award for her coverage of pollution in her hometown. Seeing has sold over 5 million copies since its Chinese publication in 2012. In 2015, Chai Jing was named one of Time magazine's 100 most influential people, and one of the top 100 global thinkers by Foreign Policy.
Product Details ISBN: 9781662600678
ISBN-10: 1662600674
Publisher: Astra House
Publication Date: August 22nd, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English