Whalesong: The True Story of the Musician Who Talked to Orcas (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Whalesong: The True Story of the Musician Who Talked to Orcas By Zachariah OHora Cover Image

Whalesong: The True Story of the Musician Who Talked to Orcas (Hardcover)

$18.99


Available for Pre-Order Now
A captivating informational picture book about Paul Horn, a musician who communicated with orcas through the power of music. For fans of Shark Lady and Margaret and the Moon.

Unbelievable but true, this is the story of two whales, two Pauls and two boys.

The whales are Haida and Chimo, captive orcas who lived in an aquarium called Sealand of the Pacific in the 1970s.

The Pauls are Paul Horn, a professional flute musician, and Dr. Paul Spong, a scientist studying the orcas in order to learn more about these mystifying creatures.

And the boys are Marlen and Robin, Paul Horn's sons, who are fascinated with the orcas despite their father's fear of the giant whales.

What follows is the spellbinding story of how the Pauls, through the power of music, learn to communicate with the orcas — and set into motion an entire anti-captivity movement dedicated to protecting these intelligent and majestic animals.
ZACHARIAH OHORA is the prolific illustrator of the New York Times bestseller Wolfie the Bunny, which received four starred reviews and was praised by the Chicago Tribune as "pitch-perfect." He is also the author-illustrator of Stop Snoring Bernard!, which won the 2011 Society of Illustrators Founders Award and was the 2012 State of PA Dept of Ed One Book, as well as No Fits, Nilson!, which received the PALA Carolyn W. Field Award, and was named the Huffington Post Best Children's Book of the Year, as well as a Kirkus Best Picture Book of the Year and a New York Public Library Book for Reading and Sharing. Zachariah's other titles include My Cousin Momo!, The Teacher's Pet, The Not So Quiet Library, and Niblet & Ralph. He is also the creator of the new PBS Kids animated series Carl the Collector. Zach lives in Narberth, PA, with his family.
Product Details ISBN: 9781774883945
ISBN-10: 1774883945
Publisher: Tundra Books
Publication Date: September 24th, 2024
Pages: 48
Language: English