Woman Alone: A Six Month Journey Through the Australian Outback (Hardcover)

Woman Alone: A Six Month Journey Through the Australian Outback By Laine Cunningham, Angel Leya (Cover Design by) Cover Image

Woman Alone: A Six Month Journey Through the Australian Outback (Hardcover)

By Laine Cunningham, Angel Leya (Cover Design by)

$27.49


Available in Warehouse. Wait for Email Confirmation for ETA
This book cannot be returned, cancelled, or exchanged. Please call for availability and pricing

For fans of Wild and Eat, Pray, Love.

At twenty-seven, Laine Cunningham seemed to have it all: tons of friends, a college degree, plenty of all-night parties, and a secure job. Yet every morning she dragged herself through a life that was corporatized and overly industrialized, a life that falsely glamorized everything she was supposed to want.

Guided only by a map pulled from an old copy of National Geographic, she camped in the Australian Outback for six months...and she did it alone.

Traveling in a time before Expedia or Travelocity, and without any guidebook or travel guide from Lonely Planet, the trip was never intended to be a vacation. Instead, it was a search for something deeper, something that lay inside. Cheap plane tickets or the cost of the airfare were far less important than the investment Laine made in herself.

The self-guided adventure tour around the country covered nearly 17,000 miles. Hostels were preferred to hotels, and then only when camping under the stars wasn't an option. Otherwise, her best accommodation was the red sand and her only travel guide was her instinct about where on the map to explore next.

Told with warm humor and sparked with suspense, the search revealed a woman's most important discovery: herself.

Laine Cunningham, a three-time recipient of The Hackney Award, writes fiction that takes readers around the world. Her debut novel, The Family Made of Dust, is set in the Australian Outback, while Reparation is a novel of the American Great Plains. She is the editor of Sunspot Literary Journal.

Product Details ISBN: 9781946732071
ISBN-10: 1946732079
Publisher: Sun Dogs Creations
Publication Date: February 8th, 2017
Pages: 184
Language: English