The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls (Hardcover)

The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls Cover Image
$26.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


The Mothers meets An American Marriage in this dazzling debut novel about mothers and daughters, identity and family, and how the relationships that sustain you can also be the ones that consume you.

The Butler family has had their share of trials—as sisters Althea, Viola, and Lillian can attest—but nothing prepared them for the literal trial that will upend their lives.
 
Althea, the eldest sister and substitute matriarch, is a force to be reckoned with and her younger sisters have alternately appreciated and chafed at her strong will. They are as stunned as the rest of the small community when she and her husband Proctor are arrested, and in a heartbeat the family goes from one of the most respected in town to utter disgrace. The worst part is, not even her sisters are sure exactly what happened.
 
As Althea awaits her fate, Lillian and Viola must come together in the house they grew up in to care for their sister’s teenage daughters. What unfolds is a stunning portrait of the heart and core of an American family in a story that is as page-turning as it is important.

About the Author


Anissa Gray is an Emmy and duPont-Columbia award-winning journalist at CNN Worldwide, responsible for helping to guide coverage of some of the most consequential stories of our time. She began her career at Reuters as a reporter, based in New York, covering business news and international finance. Born in St. Joseph, Michigan, Gray studied English and American literature at New York University. She lives in Atlanta, Georgia, with her wife.

Praise For…


Praise for The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls:

“I was immediately taken by the power and honesty of Anissa Gray’s voice. She is a writer to watch, and this debut is not to be missed!”—Terry McMillan, New York Times bestselling author of I Almost Forgot About You and Waiting to Exhale

“A poetically written story that guides us through a deep darkness toward a faint whisper of light seeping from beneath a closet door. A light that shows how love and forgiveness can come from unexpected places and triumph over more than we ever imagine.”—Delia Owens, New York Times bestselling author of Where the Crawdads Sing

“A trio of sisters navigate the tricky waters of forgiveness in Gray’s heartfelt, beautifully written debut...Get an extra copy for your best friend or your own sister; this is one you’re going to want to talk about.”—Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author

“Gray beautifully captures the way strong women can piece a community back together, taking care of their loved ones while still figuring out how to care for themselves. A graceful debut that feels timely and important.”—Karin Tanabe, author of The Gilded Years

“This is perfect for fans of Brit Bennett’s The Mothers; readers will be deeply affected by this story of a family wrestling to support itself.”—Publisher's Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9781984802439
ISBN-10: 1984802437
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: February 19th, 2019
Pages: 304
Language: English