Books in Common NW: Amy Leach

Thursday, November 18, 2021 - 7:30pm

Whiting Award-winning author Amy Leach's shares THE EVERYBODY ENSEMBLE and invites us to see and celebrate our oddball, interconnected world

Register on Eventbrite

Humans, please turn your guns into kazoos.

Are you feeling dismay, despair, disillusion? Need a break from the ho-hum, the hopeless, and the hurtful? Feel certain that there's a version of our world that doesn't break down into tiny categories of alliance but brings everybody together into one clattering, sometimes discordant but always welcoming chorus of glorious pandemonium? Books in Common NW is delighted to welcome award-winning essayist Amy Leach to share her new collection The Everybody Ensemble. Equal parts joyful and practical The Everybody Ensemble is sure to warm your heart.

The Everybody Ensemble Cover Image

Amy Leach, the celebrated author of the transcendent Things That Are, invites you into The Everybody Ensemble, an effervescent tonic of a book. These short, wildly inventive essays are filled with praise songs, poetry, ingenious critique, soul-lifting philosophy, music theory, and whimsical but scientific trips into nature. Here, you will meet platypuses, Tycho Brahe and his moose, barnacle goslings, medieval mystics, photosynthetic bacteria, and a wholly fresh representation of the biblical Job.

Equal parts call to reason and to joy, this book is an irrepressible celebration of our oddball, interconnected world. The Everybody Ensemble delivers unexpected wisdom and a wake-up call that sounds from within. For readers of Ross Gay, Eula Biss, Anne Lamott, Annie Dillard, Ralph Waldo Emerson, and even Lewis Carroll, these twenty-four essays will be a perfect match.

Portrait of Amy Leach

Amy Leach (she/her) grew up in Texas and earned her MFA from the Nonfiction Writing Program at the University of Iowa. Her work has appeared in The Best American Essays, The Best American Science and Nature Writing, and numerous other publications, including Granta, A Public Space, Orion, Tin House, and the Los Angeles Review of Books. She is a recipient of a Whiting Writers' Award, a Rona Jaffe Foundation Award, and a Pushcart Prize. Her first book was Things That Are. Leach lives in Montana.

The Everybody Ensemble: Donkeys, Essays, and Other Pandemoniums Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374109660
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - November 16th, 2021

Things That Are: Essays Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781571313515
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Milkweed Editions - June 17th, 2014

Event address: 
Country Bookshelf
28 West Main Street
Bozeman, MT 59715