Books in Common NW: Thor Hanson

Tuesday, October 19, 2021 - 7:30pm

Join Thor Hanson for a scintillating discussion of his new book HURRICANE LIZARDS AND PLASTIC SQUID!

REGISTER ON EVENTBRITE

Join beloved natural historian, Thor Hanson, as he explores how climate change is driving evolution in his new book Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught and Fascinating Biology f Climate Change. A story of hope, resilience, and risk, Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid is natural history for readers of Bernd Heinrich, Robin Wall Kimmerer, and David Haskell. It is also a reminder of how unpredictable climate change is as it interacts with the messy lattice of life.

Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid cover image

In  Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid, biologist Thor Hanson tells the remarkable story of how plants and animals are responding to climate change: adjusting, evolving, and sometimes dying out. Anole lizards have grown larger toe pads, to grip more tightly in frequent hurricanes. Warm waters cause the development of Humboldt squid to alter so dramatically that fishermen mistake them for different species. Brown pelicans move north, and long-spined sea urchins south, to find cooler homes. And when coral reefs sicken, they leave no territory worth fighting for, so aggressive butterfly fish transform instantly into pacifists. A story of hope, resilience, and risk, Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid is sure to be remembered as the defining natural history of an unnatural time.

Thor Hanson

Author and biologist Thor Hanson is a Guggenheim Fellow, a Switzer Environmental Fellow, and winner of the John Burroughs Medal. His books include Buzz, The Triumph of Seeds, Feathers, Bartholomew Quill, The Impenetrable Forest, and Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid.

Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught and Fascinating Biology of Climate Change Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781541672420
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Basic Books - September 28th, 2021

Buzz: The Nature and Necessity of Bees Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781541699533
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Basic Books - September 3rd, 2019

Feathers: The Evolution of a Natural Miracle Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780465028788
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Basic Books - July 31st, 2012

The Triumph of Seeds: How Grains, Nuts, Kernels, Pulses, and Pips Conquered the Plant Kingdom and Shaped Human History Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780465097401
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Basic Books - March 8th, 2016

Event address: 
Country Bookshelf
28 West Main Street
Bozeman, MT 59715