Local Author Showcase: Kids Edition!

Wednesday, October 20, 2021 - 6:00pm

Country Bookshelf is delighted to welcome several local children's book authors for a playdate with your next great read.

Register on Eventbrite!

Join Country Bookshelf and your neighbors for a seasonal celebration of local authors with our local author showcase. We've conjured a special treat, and will be featuring six local children's book authors to share their new books with us in a virtual event that will knock your socks off. Pop the popcorn and settle in for a cozy fall story time for the whole family!

Carry Me Home Banner

Janet Fox shares her new middle grade novel about two unhoused sisters in Carry Me Home. Following two sisters and their struggle to keep their father's disappearance a secret, this tender novel is perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

Janet Fox is an author, mom, outdoor enthusiast, and former teacher. She's been to the bottom of the ocean in a submersible, and had a brief fling with rock stardom. Her novels are written for children and young adults but have won her fans of all ages. Her gothic middle grade novel The Charmed Children of Rookskill Castle has received a whole bunch of stars and the lovely Crystal Kite Award. At the moment she's sporting blue and pink stripes in her hair. She lives in Bozeman, Montana. Find out more at JanetSFox.com.

 

Magic Beginnings Banner

Set off on an unforgettable adventure with Julie Gandulla and The Magic: Beginnings. When Paul makes some unfortunate decisions and casually uses his worry rock for comfort, he awakens an ancient magic and finds himself racing against the clock. For Paul to succeed he must learn what the stone wants, using creativity and unconventional thinking.

Julie Ann Gandulla is a writer, philosopher, natural wellness educator, and an outdoor enthusiast. She lives in Montana with her children Aidan and Fallon, their two dogs Fox and Night, and their four frogs Max, Ruby, Shakespeare & Hathaway.

Legend Keepers Banner

Explore the debut middle grade novel from wildlife biologist and award-winning science writer, Bruce L. Smith - Legend Keepers. In a perilous place at the roof of the world, an orphaned mountain goat is rescued from certain death by a mysterious raven. Communication between a mountain goat and raven might seem strange. But what becomes more unreachable is Buddy's realization that she alone can save a band of goats from the great danger foretold in an ancient legend. This brilliant tale with a clever mix of discovery will spark the intellectual curiosity of every reader.

Bruce L. Smith is a veteran wildlife manager and scientist of the US Fish and Wildlife Service. He is the author of four other books and a recipient of a 2012 Montana Book Award for Where Elk Roam. He lives in Bozeman, Montana. Visit his website at www.brucesmithwildlife.com

Never Kiss a Chicken Banner

Visit the chicken coop with William C Pack and his book Never Kiss a Chicken! Chickens are crazy, fun pets that give tasty eggs, but birds need to be handled safely. In fun verse and delightful illustration, Never Kiss a Chicken shows readers some of the rules of safe chicken handling, with the ultimate reminder of, Never Kiss a Chicken! It is perfect for backyard chicken enthusiasts, schools with chickens, or farm visitors!

William C. Pack grew up in Montana and lives in the United States. His novel, The Bottom of the Sky, was one of six finalists for the National Best Book Award and was a contender for the Pulitzer Prize in Literature. His rhymer picture book, Never Kiss a Chicken, is his first children's book. He is a philanthropist, particularly supportive of women's and children's advocacy groups and food banks.

Phoenix Rising

Check out The Elementalists - the epic new young reader fantasy from local father/daughter duo Ephie and Celia Risho. In book one, Phoenix Rising, a strange creature attacks Amber's village and burns one of the fields and her family and village prepare for more possible attacks, twelve-year-old Amber-armed only with her archery skills, and a nudging from the pixies, bravely sets out on a quest to discover why this is happening and how to stop it. She'll need help from new friends Basil and Theo, insights from a hard-to-find wizard, and knowledge of ancient powers capable of matching the encroaching evil. Otherwise, the peaceful world she knows may disappear forever. The story continues with book two - Crodor The Ancient in a series perfect for fans of Gregor the Overlander and Wings of Fire.

Ephie (dad) has been writing his whole life. Inspired by his sixth-grade teacher to write a story every week, he enrolled in the writing program during his undergrad and has been writing ever since. He loves the outdoors, music, and opportunities to tell stories. He lives in beautiful Bozeman, Montana, where he works in software development and is active in various community groups.

Celia (daughter) is an avid book lover and packs a novel with her wherever she goes. She developed the book series idea at age nine inspired by a 3rd grade writing assignment. She was born in Vancouver, Canada where her first two syllable word was “hockey”! She, along with her brother, is being raised in the mountains of Montana, where she enjoys art projects, performance art, and her dragon figurine collection.

Missing Okalee banner

Laura Ojeda Melchor shares her new middle grade novel Missing Okalee. Despite her sister Okalee's annoying perfection, Phoebe loves spending time with her. They have one very special, secret tradition: River Day--when they hold hands and make their way across the cold, rushing Grayling River, to celebrate the first hint of spring. This year's River Day crossing, however, goes horribly wrong, and Phoebe's world is suddenly turned upside down. Heartbroken and facing life without Okalee, Phoebe is more determined than ever to sing the solo in the school concert as a way of speaking to her sister one last time. But Phoebe's so traumatized by what happened, she's lost her beautiful singing voice. Missing Okalee is an empathy-building novel about the unbreakable bond between sisters and finding the courage to do what's right amid heartbreak and tragedy.

Laura Ojeda Melchor is from Montana and grew up in a Spanish-speaking home that celebrated her family's Cuban culture. She is a self-described bookworm who graduated with a MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She lives in Alaska with her husband and son.

Carry Me Home Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534485082
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - August 24th, 2021

The Magic: Beginnings Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781098368999
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: BookBaby - June 16th, 2021

Legend Keepers: The Chosen One Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781735414553
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Hidden Shelf Publishing House - August 24th, 2021

Never Kiss a Chicken! Cover Image
By William C. Pack, Lily Liu (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781949356328
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: 121 Publications - May 15th, 2021

Phoenix Rising Cover Image
$18.74
ISBN: 9781734974102
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Elementalists - May 29th, 2020

Crodor the Ancient: The Elementalists, book 2 Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781734974133
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Elementalists - April 16th, 2021

Missing Okalee Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781629729329
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Shadow Mountain - September 7th, 2021

Event address: 
Country Bookshelf
28 West Main Street
Bozeman, MT 59715