Staff Recommendations for 12-14

Our staff have picked out their favorites for children ages 12-14 years old. These include some classics, some local authors, and some books you may not have heard yet. Take a look! 

We have attached a PDF of hours of at-home entertainment with the latest books, activities, and more. Flip through this catalog and stock up for the summe using the link at the bottom of the page. 

Here's an example of what the PDF has to offer: 

 

Stand Up, Yumi Chung! Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780525554974
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Kokila - March 17th, 2020

One lie snowballs into a full-blown double life in this irresistible story about an aspiring stand-up comedian.


Bridge to Terabithia 40th Anniversary Edition Cover Image
By Katherine Paterson, Donna Diamond (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780064401845
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: HarperCollins - May 2nd, 2017

The 40th anniversary edition of the classic Newbery Medal-winning title by beloved author Katherine Paterson, with brand-new bonus materials including an author's note by Katherine herself and a foreword by New York Times bestselling author Kate DiCamillo. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to


The Crossover (The Crossover Series) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780544935204
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - March 5th, 2019

New York Times bestseller ∙ Newbery Medal Winner ∙Coretta Scott King Honor Award ∙2015 YALSA 2015 Top Ten Best Fiction for Young Adults2015 YALSA Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers ∙Publishers Weekly Best Book ∙ School Library Journal Best Book∙ Kirkus Best Book

"A beautifully mea


Brown Girl Dreaming Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780147515827
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Puffin Books - October 11th, 2016

Jacqueline Woodson's National Book Award and Newbery Honor winner, now available in paperback with 7 all-new poems.

Jacqueline Woodson is the 2018-2019 National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature

A President Obama "O" Book Club pick


The War That Saved My Life Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780147510488
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Puffin Books - May 31st, 2016

*Newbery Honor book
*Winner of the 2016 Schneider Family Book Award 

This #1 New York Times bestseller is an exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War II. For fans of Counting by 7s and Sarah, Plain and Tall.
 


Fablehaven Cover Image
By Brandon Mull, Brandon Dorman (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781416947202
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Aladdin - April 24th, 2007

Brandon Mull’s New York Times bestselling series about siblings Seth and Kendra who discover their grandparents are the caretakers of a sanctuary for magical creatures!

For centuries mystical creatures of all description were gathered into a hidden refuge called Fablehaven to prevent their extinction.


Warriors #1: Into the Wild (Warriors: The Prophecies Begin #1) Cover Image
By Erin Hunter, Dave Stevenson (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062366962
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: HarperCollins - March 17th, 2015

Epic adventures. Fierce warrior cats. A thrilling fantasy world. It all begins here. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 4 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.


Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780140384512
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - November 27th, 2001

The stunning repackage of a timeless Newbery Award Winner, with cover art by two-time Caldecott Honor Award winner Kadir Nelson!

With the land to hold them together, nothing can tear the Logans apart.


Beverly, Right Here Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763694647
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Candlewick - September 24th, 2019

Revisiting once again the world of Raymie Nightingale, two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo turns her focus to the tough-talking, inescapably tenderhearted Beverly.

Beverly put her foot down on the gas. They went faster still.
This was what Beverly wanted — what she always wanted. To get away. To get away as fast as she could. To stay away.


The List of Things That Will Not Change Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101938096
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Wendy Lamb Books - April 7th, 2020

EIGHT STARRED REVIEWS! The reassuring book kids and families need right now.

"An absolute original . . . a story that kids will love." --R. J. Palacio, bestselling author of Wonder


Efrén Divided Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062881687
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Quill Tree Books - March 31st, 2020

“We need books to break open our hearts, so that we might feel more deeply, so that we might be more human in these unkind times. This is a book doing work of the spirit in a time of darkness.” —Sandra Cisneros, author of The House on Mango Street 


Here in the Real World Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062698957
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 4th, 2020

From the author of the highly acclaimed, New York Times bestselling novel Pax comes a gorgeous and moving middle grade novel that is an ode to introverts, dreamers, and misfits everywhere.


All Together Now (Eagle Rock Series #2) Cover Image
By Hope Larson, Hope Larson (Illustrator)
$21.99
ISBN: 9780374311629
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - August 4th, 2020

All Together Now is New York Times bestselling author and illustrator Hope Larson's pitch-perfect graphic novel follow-up for fans of All Summer Long, music lovers, and anyone navigating the ups and downs of friendship.


Smile Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545132060
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Graphix - February 1st, 2010

Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!


A Home for Goddesses and Dogs Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062796783
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - February 25th, 2020

A unique masterpiece about loss, love, and the world’s best bad dog, from award winner Leslie Connor, author of the National Book Award finalist The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle.


The Passion of Dolssa Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780147512963
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Penguin Books - April 4th, 2017

A Printz Honor Book

"Gorgeous and evocative . . . magnificent."--The New York Times

 


Etiquette & Espionage (Finishing School #1) Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780316190107
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 8th, 2013

This young adult steampunk series debut set in the same world as the New York Times bestselling Parasol Protectorate is filled with all the saucy adventure and droll humor Gail Carriger's legions of fans have come to adore.


The Outsiders Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780140385724
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Speak - September 1st, 1988

The 45th anniversary of a landmark work of teen fiction

Ponyboy can count on his brothers and his friends, but not on much else besides trouble with the Socs, a vicious gang of rich kids who get away with everything, including beating up greasers like Ponyboy. At least he knows what to expect--until the night someone takes things too far.


Chaotic Good Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781524720834
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Ember - December 31st, 2019

Cosplay, comic shops, and college applications collide in this new novel from the author of You're Welcome, Universe, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Noelle Stevenson!


Hattie Big Sky (Hattie Series #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780385735957
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Yearling - December 23rd, 2008

This Newbery Honor winning, New York Times bestseller celebrates the true spirit of independence on the American frontier.


His Dark Materials: The Golden Compass (Book 1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780440418320
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Yearling - May 22nd, 2001

HIS DARK MATERIALS IS NOW AN HBO ORIGINAL SERIES STARRING DAFNE KEEN, RUTH WILSON, JAMES McAVOY, AND LIN-MANUEL MIRANDA!


Holes Cover Image
$19.80
ISBN: 9780613872973
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Turtleback Books - August 1st, 2001

Stanley's been unjustly sent to a boys' detention center where the warden makes the boys build character by digging holes. Stanley realizes the boys are digging holes because the warden is looking for something. But what could be buried under a dried-up lake?


The Sun Is Also a Star Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780553496710
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ember - March 5th, 2019

Now a major motion picture starring Yara Shahidi and Charles Melton! The #1 New York Times bestseller and National Book Award finalist from the bestselling author of Everything, Everything will have you falling in love with Natasha and Daniel as they fall in love with each other!


The Hobbit Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780547928227
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Mariner Books - September 18th, 2012

A great modern classic and the prelude to The Lord of the Rings.
 
Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than his pantry or cellar. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an adventure.