Wendy

Genres: Mystery, Science Fiction, Cooking Literature, Politics

Favorite Books: Crossing to Safety by Wallace Stegner, Antarctica by Kim Stanley Robinson, Notches by Peter Bowen, Dune by Frank Herbert, The Making of a Chef by Michael Ruhlan

 

 

 

Staff Pick Badge
Acid for the Children: A Memoir Cover Image
By Flea, Patti Smith (Foreword by)
$30.00
ISBN: 9781455530533
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Grand Central Publishing - November 5th, 2019

New York Times Bestseller
A #1 LA Times Bestseller
A USA Today Bestseller
One of NPR's "Favorite Books of 2019"


Staff Pick Badge
The Blaze Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399176098
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - January 21st, 2020

"In Dundas' assured hands, one man's search for answers makes for a lyrical, riveting meditation on memory."--EW

One man knows the connection between two extraordinary acts of arson, fifteen years apart, in his Montana hometown--if only he could remember it.


Staff Pick Badge
A Pilgrimage to Eternity: From Canterbury to Rome in Search of a Faith Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735225237
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking - October 15th, 2019

From "the world's greatest tour guide," a deeply-researched, captivating journey through the rich history of Christianity and the winding paths of the French and Italian countryside that will feed mind, body, and soul (New York Times).


Staff Pick Badge
The Body: A Guide for Occupants Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780385539302
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Doubleday - October 15th, 2019

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST 
LONGLISTED FOR THE PEN E.O. WILSON LITERARY SCIENCE WRITING AWARD

"Glorious. . .You will marvel at the brilliance and vast weirdness of your design." The Washington Post 


Staff Pick Badge
SLAY Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534445420
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Simon Pulse - September 24th, 2019

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2019!
“Gripping and timely.” —People
“The YA debut we’re most excited for this year.” —Entertainment Weekly
“A book that knocks you off your feet while dropping the kind of knowledge that’ll keep you down for the count.


Staff Pick Badge
The Long Call (The Two Rivers Series #1) Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250204448
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Minotaur Books - September 3rd, 2019

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!
WINNER OF THE AGATHA AWARD FOR BEST CONTEMPORARY NOVEL

From Ann Cleeves—bestselling and award-winning author of the Vera and Shetland series, both of which are hit TV shows—comes the first in a gripping new series, told with deep compassion and searing insight.


Staff Pick Badge
The Chestnut Man: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062895363
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - September 3rd, 2019

A Best Book of the Year: Kirkus, Library Journal, New York Times Book Review

A Book of the Month Club selection | An Indie Next Pick


Staff Pick Badge
FKA USA: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250108890
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Flatiron Books - June 18th, 2019

“Mr. King looks at all our upcoming problems, and imagines a local reaction to each one. The result is often funny, usually sardonic, and always imaginative, what with all the mole rats, flesh drones, dimeheads, and especially ‘The Grifter’s Guide to the Territories FKA USA,’ a notable addition to the line of imaginary authorities.”
The Wall Street Journal


Staff Pick Badge
Hotbox: Inside Catering, the Food World's Riskiest Business Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781627792615
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - April 9th, 2019

Matt Lee and Ted Lee take on the competitive, wild world of high-end catering, exposing the secrets of a food business few home cooks or restaurant chefs ever experience.


Staff Pick Badge
Sweeney on the Rocks Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781632460837
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Ig Publishing - April 23rd, 2019

Ted Sweeney. Affable everyman in small town Montana. Tailgate hung on with baling wire, owner of his own business. Ten minutes ago, his biggest worry had been how to pay for the engagement ring rattling around in his pocket. But that was before he came home to find a corpse tidily arranged in his favorite recliner, his "old pal of a piece of furniture." Is it a warning or a setup or what?


Staff Pick Badge
A Job You Mostly Won't Know How to Do Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781640091771
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Counterpoint LLC - May 7th, 2019

A big-hearted novel "about the grace of friends and family, the true depth and patience of love, and the impossible privilege of what it means to be a father" (Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You).


Staff Pick Badge
Dear Edward: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781984854780
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: The Dial Press - January 6th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • #ReadWithJenna Book Club Pick as Featured on Today • A “dazzling” novel that “will break your heart and put it back together again” (J. Courtney Sullivan, bestselling author of Saints for All Occasions) about a young boy who must learn to go on after surviving tragedy
 


Staff Pick Badge
The Herd: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781984826367
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - March 24th, 2020

Why did the founder of a glamorous coworking space for women disappear? Her best friends will risk everything to uncover the truth.

“Perfect for fans of Big Little Lies.” —The Washington Post


Staff Pick Badge
The Tenant Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982127572
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - January 14th, 2020

#1 international bestseller

An Indie Next Pick
An O, The Oprah Magazine Titles to Pick Up Now
A People Book Pick
A New York Post Best Book of the Week
A theSkimm Best Book to Read This Winter
A BookPage Top Ten Books for February
A Parade Most Anticipated Books of Early 20


Staff Pick Badge
This Tender Land: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781476749297
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - September 3rd, 2019

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

“If you liked Where the Crawdads Sing, you’ll love This Tender Land...This story is as big-hearted as they come.” —Parade

A magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the bestselling author of Ordinary Grace.


Staff Pick Badge
The Boy from the Woods Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781538748145
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Grand Central Publishing - March 17th, 2020

A man with a mysterious past must find a missing teenage girl in this shocking thriller from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Run Away.

Thirty years ago, Wilde was found as a boy living feral in the woods, with no memory of his past. Now an adult, he still doesn't know where he comes from, and another child has gone missing.


Staff Pick Badge
Be Not Far from Me Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062561626
Availability: On Our Shelves as of 9am Today
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 3rd, 2020

Hatchet meets Wild in this harrowing YA survival story about a teenage girl’s attempt to endure the impossible, from the Edgar Award-winning author of The Female of the Species, Mindy McGinnis.